Home > Uncategorized > Don’t stop!

Don’t stop!

So one of my favorite new TV shows is Kings, on NBC. (Watch it on Hulu!!) It’s based on the life of King Saul and David, from 1 Samuel/1 Kings. After watching a few episodes, I was inspired myself to start reading what the Bible had to say, and to see how accurate the show is. It’s been an awesome experience. I’m not quite at the same spot Kings is at, but I’m catching up. Anyway, I was reading in 1 Samuel 12 today, and I read this chunk:

19 And all the people said to Samuel, “Pray for your servants to the Lord your God, that we may not die, for we have added to all our sins this evil, to ask for ourselves a king.” 20 And Samuel said to the people, “Do not be afraid; you have done all this evil. Yet do not turn aside from following the Lord, but serve the Lord with all your heart.”

God doesn’t want us to stop serving him when we screw up, when we sin! He wants us to continue serving him because he realizes that he’s the best thing ever. Israel is his people, and he didn’t want them to keep running away from him.

How similar is that to us? I know whenever I sin, serving God is the last thing that I think about. I think I’m not worthy and that I won’t do a good enough job. “I screwed up God, how can I serve you?” But the thing is is that it’s not up to us! We were saved by faith, so how can our actions screw that up? We are saved by the Holy Spirit, and we are cleansed by the Holy Spirit. It’s not up to us. Our actions don’t screw that up. So Christians, be encouraged. You’re never too far from God. Continue serving him! Don’t stop!

So go read 1 Samuel 12:19-25 for yourself. Read it. Chew on it. Sit in it. Be encouraged (verse 20, 24) and Challenged (verse 25).

(I’m still not quite sure how to deal with a verse like 25 for Christians… but it is sobering. However, don’t think of how much sin does it take for me to separate me from God, but rather live your life in the light of the Gospel. Continue serving and pursuing Him, and that won’t be a concern because your heart and focus is on God.)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

