Home > random thoughts > Updated – Random Thought //Windows and blinds

Updated – Random Thought //Windows and blinds

Haha, this was never supposed to be published! I wrote down my thoughts real quick so that I wouldn’t forget them and hit publish instead of save as draft! woops! No better time than now though…

So why do we have windows, but keep the blinds closed? That doesn’t really make sense to me. We have a window into the world, this beautiful, beautiful world, but then shut it out, because it’s too “bright.” It’s not “energy efficient.” Now, I am as green as the next guy, maybe even more in certain regards, but who cares! Turn your ac off and open the windows! Let that beautiful sunlight in! Did you know that in the depression era, in the ghettos of New York and Chicago and others, people suffered from serious depression because they had no windows? No windows at all! We have them, yet we choose to block out what is behind it.

Think about it. You know you love it when you see a beautiful day outside. Why not invite it inside? For me, sunlight is such a beautiful light. It provides such beautiful contrast, brings out the richness of the colors in nature, all sorts of things. I love it when I wake up and walk into my kitchen and see the sun shining on my dining room table… I’ll take a picture sometime and show you guys. It’s beautiful.

What now? What sort of benefit do you get from reading this little rant of mine? Learn to Enjoy life! What’s the purpose in living if it sucks? Live in freedom. LIVE. For me, that includes opening the windows. It’s simple and elegant. Life. It can be awesome if you let it.

Categories: random thoughts
  1. sq
    March 27, 2009 at 4:52 am

    it’s all about options…i guess. but good question.

  2. Rebecca Longtemps
    April 1, 2009 at 4:14 am

    Hoorah for blogs!

    My windows face the sidewalk and busy street, so sometimes it’s a bit scary to have the windows open. If I lived elsewhere, I would definitely agree that having the windows open is a must. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

